Chairs & Members


2013 - 2014



Andre Dehondt (Mr.)
Chief of Crisis Management and Information Support Section (CMISS)
Field Support Services (FSS)
Department of Safety and Security (DSS)
United Nations Headquarters
New York, NY 10017, USA

Tel: +1 212 963 9027

Luc St-Pierre (Mr.)
Senior Programme Officer
United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA)
Vienna International Centre
Room E09-45
Wagramerstrasse 5 (or P.O. Box 500)
1220 Vienna, Austria

Tel.: +43-1-26060-4958




Hwa Saup Lee (Mr.)
Geographic Information Management Officer
Crisis Management and Information Support Section (CMISS)
Field Support Services (FSS)
Department of Safety and Security (DSS)
United Nations Headquarters

Tel: 917-367-4864




2011 - 2012


T. Suha Ulgen (Mr.)
Senior Advisor on Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI)
Office of the Assistant Secretary-General and
Chief Information Technology Officer (ASG/CITO)
United Nations Secretariat
New York, NY 10017, USA

Tel: +1 212 963 3217
Mobile: +1 917 288 6845
Matjaz PRAH (Mr.)
OSI Coordinator, Office of the Director
On-Site Inspection Division
CTBTO Preparatory Commission
Vienna International Centre
P.O. Box 1200, A-1400 Vienna, Austria
Tel. +43 (1) 26030 6399
Fax. +43(1) 26030 592

Deputy Chair


FIMS & COMS Officer
Policy, Planning and Operations
Office of the Director, OSI, CTBTO
United Nations Center,
P.O.Box 1200, A-1400, Vienna - Austria

TEL: +43-1-26030-6284
FAX: +43-1-26030-8-6284
Office: D1035 (D wing, 10F, RM.35)



2009 - 2011



Mr. Makane FAYE
Co-chair Officer-in-Charge,
e-Applications Section, ISTD, UNECA
UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Email: MFaye [at]

Tel: +251 11 5514534
Fax: +251 11 5514416 / 5510512

Mr. Dozie EZIGBALIKE (until 2010)


Co-chair Programme Coordinator, UN-SPIDER 
UN Office for Outer Space Affairs (OOSA)
Vienna, Austria
Email: David.Stevens [at]

Tel.: +43 1 26060 ext. 5631
Mobile: +43 699 1459 5631




Deputy Chair

Mr. Lorant CZARAN (until 2010)
Email: Czaran [at]



Secretariat Contact Senior GIS Officer,
e-Applications Section, ISTD, UNECA
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Email: anonguierma [at]

Tel: +251 115 444 718
Fax: +251 115 510 512
Mobile: +251 911 550 044

Mr. Ahmed OSMAN
Secretariat Contact Team Assistant,
Vienna, Austria
Email: Ahmed.Osman [at]

Tel.: +43 1 26060 ext. 4977

2007 - 2009



Ms. Alta Haggarty
Deputy Chief,
Advocacy and Information Management Branch (AIMB)
UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)

Email: haggarty [at]

Mr. Karl Steinacker
Coordinator for the East
Goma (République Démocratique du Congo)
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)

Emai: steinack [at]

2005 - 2006


Mr David Kaatrud
World Food Programme (WFP)
Jeff Tschirley
Food and Agriculture Organization, UN (FAO)

2002 - 2004



Mr. Tim FORESMAN (2002-2003)

Mr. Steven LONERGAN (2003-2004)
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

World Health Organization (WHO)    



UN Cartographic Section
(Mr. Lorant Czaran)

2000 - 2002


Mr. Hiroshi MURAKAMI
Cartographic Section, DPI/UNHQ

Deputy Chair, Secretariat

Ms. Alice CHOW  



Mr. Lorant CZARAN






More than 30 UN Departments, Funds, Programmes and Specialized Agencies are currently members of UNGIWG:

CTBTO Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
ECA United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
ECE Economic Commission for Europe
ECLAC Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
ESCAP Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization
ITU International Telecommunications Union
UN-HABITAT United Nations Human Settlements Programme
UN/DESA UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs
UN/DM UN Department of Management
UN/DPA UN Department of Political Affairs
UN/DPI UN Department of Public Information
UN/DPKO UN Department of Peacekeeping Operations
UN/DSS UN Department of Safety and Security
UN/OCHA Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
UN/OLA UN Office of Legal Affairs
UN/OOSA United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
UN/UNOG United Nations Office at Geneva
UNAIDS Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
UNDP United Nations Development Programme
UNEP United Nations Environment Programme
UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
UNFPA United Nations Population Fund
UNHCR United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
UNICEF United Nations Children’s Fund
UNITAR United Nations Institute for Training and Research
UNODC United Nations Office on Drugs and Crimes
UNOPS United Nations Office for Project Services
UNU United Nations University
WB World Bank
WFP United Nations World Food Programme
WHO World Health Organization
WMO World Meteorological Organization




UNGIWG and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) cooperate to align UN technical specifications for geographic information with agreed International Standards. See for more information. UNGIWG also cooperates with the Open Geospatial Consortium, OGC ( )to create open and extensible applications and interfaces for geographic information systems technologies.




The following organizations and commercial companies are recognised observers to the UNGIWG process: